Issue 4

It may seem strange that I skipped Issue 3, but I am not a huge fan of energy companies and skipped over their valuations for now.  I plan on getting back to it later, but I saw more interesting industries in this issue.

This issue was relatively interesting with a good amount of great businesses.  Unfortunately, not ONE of them is at an interesting price; it seems as though Mr. Market is quite optimistic these days.  Here is a list of the great businesses in the issue, I’m going to add them to the “Great Businesses” page:

  • Amgen, Inc.
  • Cigna Corp
  • General Dynamics
  • Laboratory Corp of America
  • Mednax Inc.
  • Precision Castparts
  • Quest Diagnostics
  • Rockwell Collins
  • Techne Corp
  • UnitedHealth Group

I still have to hit Issue 3, but I do not think I will go through it soon… I have gone through every issue of Value Line now (except 3), and now I feel like reading through the Small/Midcap edition.  It is likely that I will find some great situations that are less covered by Wall Street.  I’ll write up about them as I go.

About Andrew Schneck

I am a value investor focused on misunderstood securities and industries, with an eye for long-term stock ownership.
This entry was posted in Value Line Issues and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Issue 4

  1. Parth says:

    How come there aren’t any tech companies like Oracle or Google on your great businesses list?

  2. schn1eck7 says:

    I skip all the tech companies. I have no idea what they do & I refuse to value a business with fluctuating returns on working capital & operating margins, products that will be obsolete in the next 5 years, and could be destroyed by someone else in the industry. Most tech companies are extremely erratic & I get a headache reading about what they do. It’s important to understand what you’re looking at.

Leave a Reply

