Issue 1: Small/Mid

This was a decent issue, although I don’t have much to say about it. The air transport companies were a mixed bag; some terrible, some not bad at all with consistent operations. As should be expected out of the smaller companies, the medical supplies industry & precision instruments had many firms that aren’t anywhere near profitability. Some of the ones that were profitable look very good however. Again, a mixed bag. I didn’t gain any major insights with this issue, however I did gain a few new companies to add to my lists.

Interesting Prices:

  • AeroCentury Corp- I know, I know… stay away from airlines. Still, may be worth a look.
  • Cybex Int’l- I’m already familiar with the industry; I studied Nautilus & Life Time Fitness. I know the demand fell off a cliff with the recession & will be returning soon (hopefully next few quarters from what I’ve seen). Looks like a deep value situation the way I’ve seen Zales, Nautilus, Flotek Industries, W&T Offshore, etc… where the company wasn’t making any money but it was due to external factors (i.e. the economy). This company, should profitability return, could make the investor some serious gains.

Great Businesses:

  • Mesa Laboratories Inc.- healthcare company that manufactures disposable products
About Andrew Schneck

I am a value investor focused on misunderstood securities and industries, with an eye for long-term stock ownership.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Issue 1: Small/Mid

  1. Parth says:

    Hey what do you think about Eli Lilly, it hasn’t gone up with the recent runup in stocks?

    • schn1eck7 says:

      If I ran a large cap mutual fund, it would likely be a decent chunk of the portfolio. Looks like it’s losing some of its patents & will be more exposed to healthcare regulation than some of the others in the industry… Depends on what happens with their pipeline & how the regulation ultimately affects them. If things continued onwards the way they have, it would be a good buy. Just be aware of your risks here..

Leave a Reply

